Chasing Maverick [Pro-Am Driver Feature]

Today, I’ve had the privilege to sit down and talk with one of Just Drift’s  promising competitors: MCON Maverick. The conversation was mostly about his up and coming season and about the new platform he’s showcasing.

Driver Info

Gamertag: MCON Maverick.

Time Zone: PST.

Nationality: American.

Wheel/Controller: Wheel.

Team Affiliation: Mission Control.

Vehicle Info

Car #: 118.

Vehicle Make: Nissan.

Vehicle Model: Skyline R32.

Vehicle Model Year: 1993.

Performance Index: S674.

Vehicle Specifications

Engine Platform: VR38DETT.

Power (hp): 594hp.

Torque: 537lb-ft.

Displacement: 4.1L Stroker.

So tell us a bit about the new car you plan on running in Pro-Am this season.

“This upcoming Pro-Am season I’m showcasing a new car. In previous years of competition(VFD, Drift Allstars) I’ve stuck with a V8 powerplant, pushing a slightly heavier car. This year with the rulebook being the way it is, I’ve started fresh with a new build. I will be running a 1993 Nissan GT-R R32 with a stroked VR38DETT. It will be pushing just under 600hp with 537lb-ft. of torque. This will be my first competition V6 engine in any chassis thus far, and I’m really looking forward to that..”

How about the vinyl wrap you chose. What inspired the warlike theme and how about the aggressive bodykit?

“The new wrap I have pieced together was inspired by a Vietnam Era B-52D paint, and we will be running a variant on our team’s Pro car as well. We wanted something that seemed battle styled, so I looked up bombers and came up with this. The body work on my car is a throw together of kit pieces I like, with the focus point being my ginormous wing out back. As massive as it is, it does provide my car with the squat it needs to put the power down.”

I know you’re a part of Mission Control along with Panic240sx, but who else is on your team this year?

“I have partnered with Vans Footwear, ASD, Hoonigan, Takata, Maxxis, and Garrett this year, and look forward to their support. “

What kind of competitive history do you have and what Pro-Am series are you competing in this season? 

“Along with a new car, I will be competing in a new series this year. My last stint in Pro-Am was VFD 2011, and I placed lower than I hoped. Being relatively new to Forza Competition it was a definite learning curve, and it humbled my outlook on competitive driving. I will be competing in Just Drift Pro-Am this year, but I feel it will go a little smoother than my first go at earning a pro license. I have matured as a driver, and have a better understanding of what to expect going into battles. Its a battlefield out here, and it really doesn’t matter how good you think you are… Anyone has a chance at knocking the big players out of contention. I’m just going to give it my all, and charge hard towards my goal of becoming pro.”

Just Drift is shaping up to become one the most competitive Pro-Am series with names like xJustSaucy, Bobstudley762, silent ninja 123, and SLP Felon just to name a few. Maverick is no exception and a force to be reckon with. Best of luck to Mav in his road to Pro. 

Photo Credits: MCON Maverick

Make Sure to watch out for Mav in the upcoming Just Drift Pro-Am series!

Leave a comment